“One does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes forth from the mouth of God.”

“One does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes forth from the mouth of God.” – Matthew 4:4

This line from today’s gospel spoke to me today. I think the word bread could also mean comfort / extravagance. And today, I felt like I was really challenged to abstain from that “bread” of comfort. I have been down with an on/off fever for the past few days, and after Acts just now before I headed for the choir, the fever switch felt like it was on again (but there was no other Musician) so I just carried on.

Amidst the discomfort (and perhaps the desire to just be in bed), it was really difficult to play/serve for mass joyfully. But I’m reminded (tracing back to Anisia’s reflection) to not pull a long face while you’re fasting/abstaining. I’m reminded that we are not alone in the carrying of our crosses (in all other circumstances), whether big or small, because He carries it with us. At the end of today, I am so thankful that I’m able to pull through (and will be able to pull through this week) with His strength and in His will

⁃ Kreisha (5 march 2017)

 

Leave a Reply

