No; anyone who wants to be great among you must be your servant, and anyone who wants to be first among you must be your slave

Gospel reflection for today.

I had my reversion to the faith about 7 years ago, as some of you know. And it happened when I was in the police force, a rotten environment to try and be a good catholic in. But at the time I was 1 of the youngest officers in a supervisory position. But I definitely didn’t lead like Jesus. I really did look down on some people didn’t think they were any good at their job. Now I’m on reservist and seeing a lot of these people with different eyes, without the judgements, saying hi with a real smile.

But it was in CSC after my reversion where I met, for the first time in my life a real servant leader, my former head, and for me that’s what a leader should look like, she does the most menial tasks without a single sound, she just goes and takes out the trash even thought it’s twice her weight, you can tell her prayer life is in order and she’s just always concerned with people. I totally look up to her in leadership within the Church & it ties in perfectly with just that last line of today’s gospel;

No; anyone who wants to be great among you must be your servant, and anyone who wants to be first among you must be your slave, just as the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.’

So that’s the standard for us all as Catholics, and also to do it with real love!

Let us continue to grow in faith and love this lent, and look forward to a great Easter.

⁃ Daryl (15 march 2017)

