Perfect love drives out fear

hello everyone, hope that you all had a great day today! Here is my reflection for today!

“There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.” 1 John 4:18

This is personally one of my go-to Bible verses. Previously, i was a person full of anger and hate for many things. I was always quick to judge and never took the time to understand others around me. There was one particular day when I chanced upon this bible verse and it really got me thinking.

I realised that I was being the person I was, because of fear. The fear of failure made me very angsty easily. The fear of being taken advantage of made me cold and unfriendly towards others. The fear of being judged by others made me unoriginal, and I often despised others for the mere reason that they were simply better than me.

This verse really hit me as I decided that I needed to break down my own barriers and start being a more loving person towards others. It is after all, the greatest commandment that we love God and love others. I started to realise that everyone was God’s child and that everyone was so beautifully and uniquely sculptured by God. Who am I then to criticise and judge others?

I think I really changed over the past years to be a person who loves more, because I have finally decided not to fear anymore, and believe that pure love will triumph over fear. Through God and His Holy will, I am determined to love the people around me!

Thank you for reading and have a blessed day ahead

⁃ Emma (17 march 2017)

Leave a Reply

