“Even if these may forget, yet I will not forget you.”

Hello, it’s my turn to do a reflection today. I hope you all have a blessed day!

Before this recent camp i’ve served at, Open Heaven, i’ve been struggling and beating myself up, sleeping all day and binge eating to fill this void in me that I’ve had for months. I didn’t know what to do about it thinking if I eat I can at least feel full and just pray about this void that just seems to be a black hole like for months of praying and trying to find the love and light to fill me.

At the camp, God placed me in a situation where everyone there was a stranger to me and all I knew was that they are a brother/sister in Christ. On Day 1 of the camp I really didn’t feel good, I felt alone and I also felt that we aren’t serving God but the participants to make them comfortable. I served logs but we didn’t really pray for strength to keep us going and the logs in Day 1 was the most intense other than packing logs on the last day. I asked a friend to pray with me at the end of the day about the camp and service team and as the saying “for where two or three people gather in my name, there am I with them” and as amazing God is, true enough our prayers were answered the very next morning.

I would like to bring up todays scripture

Isaiah 14:8 “In a time of favour I have answered you, in a day of salvation I have helped you”

During the night of immersion as they wanted to recreate the act of Baptism, we had to fill two pools with water and one hose was too slow so we logs were carrying pails from the toilet to the pool and the rest of the service team started helping and they made a human chain all the way from the toilet to the pool and I felt truly blessed and thankful.

In this camp, I initially felt isolated but at the end I felt like I entered a room full of blessed, loving people that just accepted my deepest hurts and that void was filled. It was truly an open heaven.

Isaiah 49:15 says “Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you.”

– Sophia (29 March 2017)

Leave a Reply

